The new terms and conditions also mean that simply deleting the app will not prevent WhatsApp from retaining a user’s private data. To ensure the service no longer continues to do this, users must instead use the in-app feature for deleting their accounts. The policy notes that even after using this delete feature, some data will remain with the company, stating: “When you delete your account, it does not affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them.”
By tapping Agree, you accept the new terms, which take effect on February 8, 2021, the notification states. After this date, you’ll need to accept the new terms to continue using WhatsApp. You can also visit the Help Center if you would prefer to delete your account.”
At this point it is important to remember some of the key information that WhatsApp collects:
- Your Phone number that you used to create an account.
- Your profile picture and profile information.
- Your location information.
- payment and transaction data.
- The phone numbers of your WhatsApp contacts.
- Information about your device such as the model, operating system, and mobile network.
- Your mobile network, ISP, Language, Time zone, Browser information.
- Other information, including your IP address, device operations information, and identifiers.
- the information about how you are messaging, calling, what groups you are attending, the Status, the profile photo, last time you were online, etc.
WhatsApp even added a separate section called “Transactions and Payments data” specifying the platform will process additional information even for payments, made through the app. The company claims this is for analytics purposes, although it would provide its unique identifiers to other Facebook brands.